General information

The RAIPON was founded in March 1990 at the First Congress of the Peoples of the North. The first name was 'Association of the Peoples of the North of the USSR', which united 26 Peoples. On November 24, 1993, it was registered as a socio-political movement 'Association of Indigenous Small-numbered Peoples of the North, Siberia and the Far East of the Russian Federation' (RAIPON). In July 1999, the Association was re-registered in the Ministry of Justice of the Russian Federation as an all-Russian public organization.

The Association is a public organization that aims to protect human rights and defend the
interests of the Indigenous small-numbered Peoples of the North, Siberia and Far East of the Russian Federation, to contribute to the solution of social and economic problems, environmental protection, cultural development and education. The Association works to ensure the rights to protect the native habitat and traditional way of life of the small-numbered peoples of the North, as well as to ensure their right to self-government in accordance with national and international legal standards.

The RAIPON unites 40 Indigenous Peoples, whose number, according to the All-Russian Population Census of 2010, is 257,895 people who are organized into 33 regional and ethnic associations and authoritatively represents these peoples on the international and federal levels.

The highest body of the Association is the Congress, which convenes every fourth year. In the period between Congresses, the current work of the organization is managed by a Coordinating Council and a Presidium consisting of the President, First Vice-President and Vice-Presidents of the Association. The President of the Association is elected on the Congress by secret ballot on an alternative basis. All regional leaders of regional and ethnic associations, elected by their Indigenous Peoples groups in the regions, are members of the Coordinating Council.

The RAIPON is based on the territorial and territorial-ethnic principle. It is based on the regional (local) members of the Association, who have organizational and financial independence.

The Association maintains close links with its regional branches, coordinates their activities to implement the decisions of the governing bodies of the Association, and provides whatever assistance it can. The Coordinating Council brings it up for discussion of controversial issues and unresolved issues in the field of human rights, environmental protection, preservation of traditional lifestyles, culture and native habitat. Council has meetings at least twice a year to discuss current work. The Association organizes special events for its members, promotes international exchange and cooperation, and provides all possible assistance to the Indigenous small-numbered Peoples of the North.

The RAIPON, in cooperation with the Chambers of the Federal Assembly of the Russian Federation, the Government and the Administration of the President of the Russian Federation, federal and regional ministries and departments, participates in the work on legislation designed to ensure the rights of Indigenous Peoples, the preservation of their traditional way of life and the development of the economy. The Association's practice of partnership with relevant ministries, committees of the State Duma and the Federation Council of the Federal Assembly of the Russian Federation and presidential plenipotentiaries in federal districts is based on the conclusion of cooperation agreements and joint events at the federal and regional levels.

The Association has a special consultative status with the United Nations Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC), is an active participant in the sessions of the UN Working Groups on Indigenous Issues and the draft Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples, as well as the sessions of the Commission on Human Rights and the UN Permanent Forum on Indigenous Issues.

The Association is a Permanent Member of the Arctic Council, established by 8 Arctic countries: Norway, Denmark, Sweden, Finland, Iceland, Canada, the United States, and Russia. The Association's experts take part in various working groups and programs of the Arctic Council. The Association has observer status in the Governing Council of the United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP Governing Council / Global Ministerial Environment Forum).

The Association has observer status with the Committee on Intellectual Property and Genetic Resources, Traditional Knowledge and Culture of the World Intellectual Property Organization. In 1999, the Association was awarded the prestigious international award of the UN Environment Program "Global 500" for outstanding services to the protection of the nature of the Russian North.

Rewards

Documents

See also

Общая информация

Ассоциация образована в марте 1990 года на I Съезде народов Севера. Первое название - «Ассоциация народов Севера СССР», которая объединяла 26 народов. 24 ноября 1993 года она была зарегистрирована как общественно-политическое движение «Ассоциация коренных малочисленных народов Севера, Сибири и Дальнего Востока Российской Федерации».  В июле 1999 года Ассоциация прошла перерегистрацию в Министерстве юстиции Российской Федерации как общероссийская общественная организация.

Ассоциация является общественной организацией, которая ставит своей задачей защищать права человека и отстаивать интересы коренных малочисленных народов Севера, Сибири и Дальнего Востока России (далее – малочисленные народы Севера), способствовать решению социальных и экономических проблем, проблем охраны окружающей среды, культурного развития и образования. Ассоциация работает над обеспечением прав по защите исконной среды обитания и традиционного образа жизни малочисленных народов Севера, а также по обеспечению их права на самоуправление согласно национальным и международным правовым стандартам. 

Ассоциация объединяет  40 народов, численность которых составляет согласно Всероссийской переписи населения 2010 года – 257 895человек, организованных в 33 региональные и этнические объединения и полномочно представляет эти народы на международном и федеральном уровнях.

Высшим органом Ассоциации является Съезд, который собирается каждые четыре года. В период между съездами текущей работой организации управляют Координационный Совет и Президиум в составе Президента, первого вице-президента и вице-президентов Ассоциации. Президент Ассоциации избирается на Съезде тайным голосованием на альтернативной основе. Все региональные лидеры региональных и этнических объединений, избранные своими народами в регионах, являются членами Координационного Совета.

Ассоциация строится по территориальному и территориально-этническому принципу. Ее основу составляют региональные (местные) члены Ассоциации, которые обладают организационной и финансовой самостоятельностью.

Ассоциация поддерживает тесные связи со своими региональными отделениями, координирует их деятельность по выполнению решений руководящих органов Ассоциации, помогает им в решении всех вопросов. Спорные проблемы и нерешенные вопросы в области прав человека, охраны окружающей среды, сохранения традиционного образа жизни, культуры и исконной среды обитания выносятся на Координационный Совет, который собирается два раза в год  для обсуждения текущей работы. Для членов Ассоциации организутся специальные мероприятия, содействует международному обмену и сотрудничеству, оказывает любую посильную помощь малочисленным народам Севера.

Ассоциация в сотрудничестве с палатами Федерального Собрания РФ, Правительством и Администрацией Президента Российской Федерации, министерствами и ведомствами принимает участие в работе над законодательством, призванным обеспечивать права коренных народов, сохранение их жизненного уклада и развитие экономики. Практика партнерства Ассоциации  с  профильными министерствами, комитетами Государственной Думы и Совета Федерации Федерального Собрания РФ и полномочными представителями Президента РФ в федеральных округах основана на заключении соглашений о сотрудничестве и проведении совместных мероприятий на федеральном и региональном уровнях.

Ассоциация имеет специальный консультативный статус при Экономическом и Социальном Совете ООН (ECOSOC), является активным участником сессий Рабочих Групп ООН по вопросам коренных народов и проекту Декларации по правам коренных народов, а также сессий Комиссии по правам человека и Постоянного Форума ООН по вопросам коренных народов.

Ассоциация является Постоянным Участником Арктического Совета, учрежденного 8 странами Арктики: Норвегией, Данией, Швецией, Финляндией, Исландией, Канадой, США и Россией. Эксперты Ассоциации принимают участие в различных рабочих группах и программах Арктического Совета.

Ассоциация обладает статусом наблюдателя в Управляющем Совете Программы ООН по Окружающей Среде (UNEP Governing Council / Global Ministerial Environment Forum).

Ассоциация обладает статусом наблюдателя при Комитете интеллектуальной собственности и генетических ресурсов, традиционных знаний и культуры Всемирной Организации интеллектуальной собственности.

В 2000-2002 гг. на ротационной основе Ассоциация возглавляла секретариат Арктического Совета коренных народов (IPS), штаб-квартира которого находится в Копенгагене, Дания.

Первый вице-президент Ассоциации, Суляндзига П.В., был назначен членом Постоянного Форума ООН по вопросам коренных народов с 1 января 2005 года на трехлетний срок, затем еще раз был переизбран на второй срок до конца 2010 года. С 2011 года членом Постоянного Форума на очередной срок избрана вице-президент Ассоциации Найканчина А.П.

В 1999 году Ассоциация была удостоен престижной международной награды Программы ООН Окружающей Среде «Global 500» за выдающиеся заслуги по охране природы Российского Севера.

Награды

Документы

Смотрите также